My Favourite Songs of 2012

Just over two hours and counting til it’s 2013 here in the UK, so time for me to post my favourite songs of 2012 (and no, ‘Gangnam Style’ is not one of them. Although ‘Mitt Romney Style’ was absolutely brilliant). The first two songs mentioned are my faves of this year but the rest are in no particular order…

1991- Azealia Banks.
I’ve loved pretty much everything that this woman has released this year but this song is epic. The second verse (the lyrics, the beat, everything) is one of the best things I’ve heard all year.

Skyfall- Adele.
I must be one of the few people in the world not to own either of Adele’s albums, but once I heard the leaked one minute snippet a few days before its official release I was hooked. Best Bond theme since Tomorrow Never Dies in my opinion.

9th Inning/Triple Threat- Missy Elliott.
A very welcome return from Missy- it’s been too long. A double bill of goodness!

Latch- Disclosure ft Sam Smith.
How I lurve this tune and the way it bounces along.

And I Will Kiss- Underworld.
This tune and its use during the ‘Industrial Revolution’ part of the Opening Ceremony at the London Olympics had me scrambling for my Shazam app, trying to find out what the hell it was called. The drums…the drums!!

Paddling Out- Miike Snow.
This song has got me through many a day at work, tapping my feet at my desk. I even thought of a dance routine! (sort of)

He Loves Me-Terri Walker.
If you haven’t heard this, make it one of your priorities to do so in the new year. Gorgeous song.

Forget- Lianne La Havas.
Love this song, her voice and her magnificent hair.

You Bring Me Joy- Amelia Lily.
This song chugs away in your brain and stays there. Top-notch pop.

Feel The Love- Rudimental ft John Newman.
I defy you to be unhappy after listening to this. The epitomé of an uplifting song.

DNA- Little Mix.
Tuuuuuune!!

Picking Up The Pieces- Paloma Faith.
Just a fabulous, stirring song.

Princess of China- Coldplay ft Rihanna.
Some say Coldplay sold out with this collaboration. Oh please! All I know is that it’s a cracking tune.

Elephant- Alexandra Burke.
This song got slated by a fair few people and I stay shaking my head. It’s a top tune.

Twilight- Cover Drive.
A guilty pleasure. Can’t help singing along to this.

My World- Iggy Azalea.
This one crept up on me. Love the beat.

Running- Jessie Ware.
This girl can sing! Cool, classy stuff.

Ill Manors- Plan B.
The instrumental is sheer class and then I heard the lyrics and loved it even more.

So there you have my hit list. I can’t believe all these were released this year. (Is it me or has 2012 been a long-ass year? Feels like three years have been crammed into one.)
Anyway, happy New Year people!

© G. Holder 2012

Leave a Reply

