My Favourite Songs of 2013

Another year is almost at an end so it’s time for me to do my lovely, slightly lengthy list of my favourite songs of the year. Woohoo!
So here they are in no particular order…well, apart from the first one…

One Republic- Counting Stars
This is my favourite song of the year. I’ve got so much love for it and end up doing a hoedown everytime I hear it.

MKS- Flatline
I was amazed that this song failed to do well in the charts. It’s a strong song for a comeback and their harmonies are spot on, but would you expect anything less from the original Sugababes? (though I didn’t think much of the video). Such a shame their comeback didn’t go as well as hoped. But there’s still time!

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis- Can’t Hold Us
Ah, how I love this tune. Never off the radio or TV and rightly so- it’s an awesome bounce-along-song. And Ray Dalton’s voice deserves to go global- the boy’s gotta lotta soul.

Tom Odell- Can’t Pretend
I posted this haunting song earlier this year to highlight how much I love the way it crescendos into something glorious.

Rudimental ft Ella Eyre- Waiting All Night
Second year running on my list for the East London bunch with this fabulous tune, complete with an inspiring video tracking the recovery of BMX biker Drew Yaeger.

Breach- Everything We Never Had (We Had It All)
This! Phenomenal tune, brilliant video. Like something from that Bodyworks exhibition at the O2.

Taylor Swift- I Knew You Were Trouble
I’ve never cared for her music but I liked this a lot. Not a fan of the monologue at the start of her video but who cares? It’s great!

Bruno Mars- Locked Out of Heaven
Everytime I go into a certain clothes store, this song is always playing but everyone sings along regardless. Especially the ‘he-he-he-he, he-he-he-he, ooooh!’ part.

Lorde- Royals
Catchy as a cold, this song. Just whirs along in its own world and entices you into doing the harmony at the end of each chorus.

Devlin ft Diane Birch- Rewind
Love this song. Great chorus, lyrics, everything.

Mariah Carey and Miguel- #Beautiful
The hashtag is a bit off-putting but the song is one of Mariah’s best in a long time. Just #beautiful! (Sorry)

Cristobal Tapia de Veer- Utopia theme tune
Bit odd putting a theme tune on my list but it sounds so loopy and unsettling, which complimented the programme immensely. Astoundingly good stuff.

Janelle Monae ft Miguel- Primetime
Cool, classy duet by Ms Monae and Miguel.

Pink- Just Give Me a Reason
One of the best songs she’s ever done. Plus I saw Pink in concert at the O2 in the summer and, despite having a bad cold and an ear infection, she was beyond incredible that was worth every penny.

Pharrell- Happy
Last number one of 2013 and it was a great one. The start of the year began with his collaboration with Daft Punk and the legend that is Nile Rodgers (Get Lucky) and will end with this cracker. Marvellous.

Disclosure ft Eliza Doolittle- You and Me
Fantastic tune with sweet vocals from Ms Doolittle. If you haven’t got the album, buy it post-haste!

So there you go- behold! My playlist of songs of the year is complete. Check them out and enjoy!

© G. Holder 2013

Leave a Reply

