Trouble on the Tube

Today was Day Two of the Tube strike. Whoopee-shit. I had so much fun dragging my sleepy-eyed self on a 2.5 to 3 hour commute by train.

By the time I got to work I was well and truly narked off and to top it all off, I wasn’t at my usual workplace; I was ‘hot desking’ at my old work HQ. So instead of being settled in my surroundings, I was in a dark, dusty and dingy building that has seen better days…and I didn’t like it one bit. The way the working world is nowadays, hot desking is something that will probably become the norm. But I hope it doesn’t as I like stability. I like being in my own space where I know where everything is and I’m surrounded by my things, my own shit. It’s a mess, but it’s my mess. When I’m in an unfamiliar environment, I don’t feel right.

And another thing: why oh why, on the day of a tube strike, do people try to get in early? The strikers said the trains would start running at 7am. So hordes of people eager to get to work (where some of their superiors couldn’t give a monkeys what time they get in) stood outside tube stations across London, waiting for the gates to open. Waiting…and waiting…and waiting.

Seven o’clock came, then ten-past, then later. The doors opened and in they went, huge crowds of people crushing themselves on trains like sardines. And no matter what time you leave the house, you’re more than likely to be confronted by a sight like this:

<

20140205-221350.jpg

Despite the inevitably long journey, I got in just after 10am, which surely is to be expected during a tube strike! And I did more than enough walking, thus fulfilling my exercise quota for the day. But I was still the last one on my team to get in, which annoyed the daylights out of me. Most of my colleagues were in by 9:30; some were in at 8, leaving their house at an even more ungodly hour to do so. Whatever happened to employees getting in later than usual during a tube strike? Maybe it’s just me but I think it’s futile leaving the house mega-early. I did that this morning and still ended up getting off my bus and walking to the train station which was a good 20 minutes away. There was so much traffic en route to the station, it was beyond ridiculous. Employers should realise that strikes are an exceptional circumstance, so as hard as we try to get to work, you cannot control these kind of events.

And we have to do it all again next week, bar any developments regarding the ongoing talks via all parties which might end up conducted on LBC radio. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

